Your project copy screen allows you to copy activities and tasks from one project or project template to another.
Instead of copying activities and tasks, it is almost always better to use a project template to share a central set of activities and tasks instead. Copying a project will increase the size of your system's data files by a small amount and, over the years, this may slow down the speed of your system login. In contrast, a project template allows you to reference the same set of activities and tasks across projects without increasing the size of your data files, or requiring you to manage multiple sets of the same activities and tasks.
This screen is reached from your other items sub-menu:
The buttons and fields provided on this screen as follows:
Exits the screen and returns you to your main menu.
Exits the screen and returns you to your other items menu.
Clears the 'from' and 'to' project selectors, allowing you to select a new project, activity and task for copying.
Starts the project copy process, under which all activities and tasks listed in the project noted in your 'from' selector will be copied to the project or project template noted in your 'to' selector.
Opens a new web page displaying help for your current screen.
A project selector which allows you to specify the project or project template from which activities and tasks are to be copied.
A project selector which allows you to specify the project or project template to which activities and tasks are to be copied.
This screen has been provided to assist a manager in setting up a project or project template which is close in structure to an existing project, but which requires a new set of activities and tasks. For example, a bespoke project which requires the tracking of time at the activity and task level, or a new type of work which requires a project template slightly different than an existing template.
A project copy action will never overwrite the activities and tasks located in a 'to' project. If a 'to' project already contains an activity or task with an activity/task code identical to another activity or task in the 'from' project, that item will not be copied.
In the example shown in the screen shot above, a new template is being created for Development Work which will be based on the structure of the Widget Co. Project. After selecting that project and project template in the 'from' and 'to' selectors, the Copy Project button is clicked to start the copy process. Before proceeding, an information message is shown which reminds you that using a project template provides a better solution for sharing activities and tasks between projects:
After dismissing that message by clicking Ok, a confirmation message will appear which indicates the project or project template from and to which the project copy will be performed:
After clicking Yes, the project copy will be performed, with an information message displayed to you once that action has been completed:
As noted in that message, you will need to sign in to your system again to refresh your data before your copied project will be available for reference. After clicking Ok, you will be signed out of your Senomix session and can sign in again to retrieve your new project data.