Administration Guide
3.7 - Billing Rate Administration Screen

Your billing rate administration screen shows all non-default billing rates to be applied to an employee's recorded time. Rates entered in this screen override the default rates set for projects and employee user accounts.

This screen is only needed if an employee will have a different billing rate than that set for the project or for their default rate. If all employees assigned to a project will be billed out at the same hourly rate, or if you will not be using Senomix for the calculation of client billing, you will not need to use this screen.

This screen is reached from your user administration screen and will display only those billing rates assigned to the selected user.

billing rate administration screen

The buttons and fields provided on this screen are as follows:

Home

Exits the screen and returns you to your main menu.

Back

Exits the screen and returns you to your user administration screen.

New

Clears the screen to prepare it for entering a new billing rate.

Save

Saves to your database any changes made to the selected billing rate.

Delete

Deletes the selected billing rate from your database.

Prev

Selects the previous billing rate displayed in the screen's table window.

Next

Selects the next billing rate displayed in the screen's table window.

Help

Opens a new web page displaying help for your current screen.

Employee Name

The name of the employee to whom the displayed billing rates apply.

Employee No.

The employee number of the employee to whom the displayed billing rates apply.

Project

The project to which the displayed billing rate is to be applied.

Activity

The activity to which the displayed billing rate is to be applied.

Task

The task to which the displayed billing rate is to be applied.

Rate

The per-hour rate to be applied to the displayed project, activity and task.

Billing Rate Id

Displays the system-assigned id of the selected billing rate.

Last Update User

Displays the username of the individual who last updated the selected billing rate.

Last Update Date

Displays the date on which the selected billing rate was last updated.

If a billing rate is saved for a project, activity, and task, that rate will be applied to any time recorded against those items when an invoice or other billing report is created for an employee's time. For example, considering the rates shown in the screen above, any time which Ada Byron recorded to the Widget Co. Project would be charged at the rate of 75.00 dollars (or pounds, euros, etc. as appropriate) per hour booked to any Widget Co. Project activity or task, except for the Widget Co. Project Documentation activity, for which the rate would be 25.00 per hour.

If no specific billing rates were entered for Ada Byron, her time would be charged at the default rate set for the Widget Co. Project (as described for the project administration screen in Section 3.8) or the default rate set for her in her user account (as described for the user administration screen in Section 3.2).

Billing rates are prioritized in your system as follows:

     Specific rates entered for an employee in the billing rates screen

          [are used before]

               User account default rates

                    [are used before]

                         Project default rates

If a billing rate is set for a user and project in the billing rate administration screen, that rate will have priority above all default rates.

If an employee has a default rate set in their user account and has recorded time to a project which also has a default rate, the default user account rate will be used when creating invoices and other reports.

If an employee does not have a default rate set in their user account and does not have a billing rate noted for a project in their billing rate administration screen, the default rate set for the project will be used when creating invoices and other reports.